LLANELLI RURAL COUNCIL

Minute Nos: 1 − 11

At the **ANNUAL MEETING** of the Llanelli Rural Council held at the Council Chamber, Vauxhall Buildings, Vauxhall, Llanelli, and via remote attendance on Tuesday, 13 May, 2025, at 6.00 p.m.

Present: Cllr. M. V. Davies (Chairman)

Cllrs.

S. R. Bowen	J. Lovell
D. M. Cundy	S. N. Lewis
T. M. Donoghue	A. G. Morgan
A. Evans	K. Morgan
E. M. Evans	J. S. Phillips
N. Evans	A. J. Rogers
R. E. Evans	W. E. Skinner
S. M. T. Ford	A. G. Stephens

Absent: S. K. Nurse

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs. S. L. Davies, J. P. Hart and O. Williams.

2. MEMBERS' DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were made.

3. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

There was no public participation in the proceedings.

4. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Cllr. M. V. Davies invited nominations for the election of Chairman. It was moved by Cllr. A. J. Rogers, seconded by Cllr. A. G. Morgan and was

RESOLVED that Cllr. S. N. Lewis, is hereby, appointed Chairman of Council for the municipal year 2025/26.

The Chairman was invested with the Chains of Office by Cllr. Davies who wished her well during her term of office.

5. CHAIRMAN'S DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

RESOLVED that it be noted the Chairman made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

6. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

It was moved by Cllr. D. M. Cundy, seconded by Cllr. E. M. Evans, and was

RESOLVED that Cllr. T. M. Donoghue be and, is hereby, appointed as Vice-Chairman of Council for the municipal year 2025/26.

The Vice-Chairman was invested with the Chains of Office by Cllr. Lewis who wished her well during her term of office.

7. VICE-CHAIRMAN'S DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

RESOLVED that it be noted the Vice-Chairman made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

8. PRESENTATION OF MEDALLIONS

Cllr. S. N. Lewis presented Cllr. M. V. Davies with the Past Chairman's medallion and Ms R. Thomas with the Past Chairman's Consort's medallion.

9. APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTES

RESOLVED that members be appointed to the under-mentioned committees together with confirmation of the respective nominations of chairman and vice-chairman for each committee as follows:

<u>Finance and General Purposes</u>: <u>Members</u>:

M. V. Davies
S. L. Davies
Pemberton
T. M. Donoghue
A. Evans
Glyn
N. Evans
Felinfoel
R. E. Evans
Dafen

S. N. Lewis Leader of Council A. G. Morgan Swiss Valley

Finance and General Purposes: Members: Continued ... K. Morgan Dafen S. K. Nurse Pemberton J. S. Phillips Hengoed Chairman of Committee: A. G. Morgan Vice-Chairman of Committee T. M. Donoghue Recreation and Welfare: D. M. Cundy Bynea T. M. Donoghue Bynea E. M. Evans Felinfoel J. P. Hart Pemberton S. N. Lewis Dafen A. G. Morgan Swiss Valley J. S. Phillips Hengoed A. J. Rogers Dafen W. E. Skinner Hengoed A. G. Stephens Pemberton O. Williams Glyn Chairman of Committee: D. M. Cundy Vice-Chairman of Committee A. J. Rogers Planning and Liaison: S. R. Bowen Swiss Valley M. V. Davies Hengoed Pemberton S. L. Davies A. Evans Glyn Felinfoel E. M. Evans S. M. T. Ford Bynea Leader of Council S. N. Lewis J. Lovell Hengoed Dafen K. Morgan S. K. Nurse Pemberton A. J. Rogers Dafen Chairman of Committee: A. J. Rogers E. M. Evans Vice-Chairman of Committee Policy and Resources: S. R. Bowen Swiss Valley D. M. Cundy Bynea Felinfoel N. Evans Dafen R. E. Evans S. M. T. Ford Bynea

> J. P. Hart S. N. Lewis

J. Lovell

Pemberton

Dafen

Hengoed

<u>Policy and Resources</u>: <u>Members</u>:

Continued ...

W. E. Skinner Hengoed
A. G. Stephens Pemberton

O. Williams Glyn

Chairman of Committee: R. E. Evans
Vice-Chairman of Committee N. Evans

<u>Civic and Ceremonial</u>: M. V. Davies

S. L. Davies S. N. Lewis A. G. Morgan J. S. Phillips

Chairman of Committee: M. V. Davies Vice-Chairman of Committee J. S. Phillips

<u>Learning and Development Consultative</u> <u>Members:</u>

Committee:

S. R. Bowen Swiss Valley

D. M. Cundy Bynea
T. M. Donoghue Bynea
N. Evans Felinfoel
R. E. Evans Dafen

S. N. Lewis Leader of Council

K. MorganJ. S. PhillipsO. WilliamsDafenHengoedGlyn

Chairman of Committee: S. R. Bowen Vice-Chairman of Committee R. E. Evans

In accordance with Standing Order No. 39, members serving on any of the council's committees were given discretionary powers to appoint a deputy to attend in their stead, except for the Civic and Ceremonial Committee.

10. REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES AND ORGANISATIONS

RESOLVED that the following members be appointed to represent the council on the undermentioned committees, bodies or organisations:-

Members:

CETMA/Llanellitown.com A. G. Stephens

Members:

Friends of Llanelli Museum J. Lovell

Governing Bodies:

Primary Schools:

Bryn Llangennech Community Council

Brynsierfel J. P. Hart

Bynea T. M. Donoghue
Dafen K. Morgan
Five Roads O. Williams
Furnace J. S. Phillips
Halfway S. N. Lewis

Ponthenri Federation appointment

Pontyates A. Evans
Pwll J. S. Phillips
St. Mary's Catholic A. J. Rogers
Swiss Valley S. R. Bowen
Ysgol Brynteg A. G. Stephens
Ysgol-y-Felin E. M. Evans

Links R. E. Evans

Llanelli and District Civic Society A. J. Rogers

Llanelli and District Flood D. M. Cundy Forum W. E. Skinner

Llanelli and District R. E. Evans Shopmobility

Llanelli and District Twinning T. M. Donoghue

Association

Llanelli Chamber of Trade and D. M. Cundy Commerce

Llanelli Fair Trade Group T. M. Donoghue

Llanelli Guide Dogs for T. M. Donoghue the Blind

Llanelli Joint Burial Advisory T. M. Donoghue

Committee

N. Evans
S. N. Lewis
J. S. Phillips
A. J. Rogers

Llanelli Railway Strike Riots T. M. Donoghue

1911 Com	memorative Committee	W. E. Skinner
	vyn Hospice og Committee	S. R. Bowen J. S. Phillips A. J. Rogers
11.	ANNUAL REVIEW O	F ELIGIBLE COMMUNITY COUNCIL STATUS
General Po		council was an eligible community council to use the it continued to meet the eligibility criteria permitting
Th. M. 4		
The Meeti	ng concluded at 6.17 p.m.	

The afore-mentioned Minutes were declared to be a true record of the proceedings and signed by the Chairman presiding thereat and were, on 11 June, 2025, adopted by the Council.