LLANELLI RURAL COUNCIL

MEETING NOTES

At a Special Council Meeting hosted at the Council Chamber, Vauxhall Buildings, Vauxhall, Llanelli and via remote attendance on Monday, 7 April, 2025 at 6.00 p.m.

PRESENT: Cllrs. S. R. Bowen, D. M. Cundy, M. V. Davies (Chairman), S. L. Davies, T. M. Donoghue, A. Evans, E. M. Evans, N. Evans, R. E. Evans, S. M. T. Ford, J. P. Hart, S. N. Lewis, J. Lovell, A. G. Morgan, K. Morgan, S. K. Nurse, J. S. Phillips, A. J. Rogers, W. E. Skinner, A. G. Stephens and O. Williams.

AGENDA ITEMS:

Apologies for absence.

3.7			

None.

1.

2. Members' Declarations of Interest in respect of the business transacted.

None.

Public Participation. 3.

None.

4. Leader of Council – to consider the following motion submitted by Cllr. O. Williams regarding making a change to the position of the council leader, specifically that:

"Following recent by-election results in the Hengoed and Dafen Wards and the subsequent change in the political makeup of the council, it is proposed to elect Cllr. Alex Evans as the Leader of Council in place of Cllr. Susan Lewis".

A recorded vote was taken and the motion was not carried, with ten members voting in favour of the motion and eleven members voting against it and so no changes were made to the status quo. The voting pattern was as follows:

For:	Against:	Abstained:
M. V. Davies	S. R. Bowen	None
S. L. Davies	D. M. Cundy	
A. Evans	T. M. Donoghue	
S. M. T. Ford	E. M. Evans	
J. P. Hart	N. Evans	
J. Lovell	R. E. Evans	
S. K. Nurse	S. N. Lewis	
K. Morgan	A. G. Morgan	
A. G. Stephens	J. S. Phillips	

5. Committee Nominations – in light of the proposed review of the council leadership set out in agenda item 4 above and in anticipation of there being a change in the council leadership; that the appointment of members, including the confirmation of the respective nominations of Chairman and Vice-Chairman on the council's standing committees be subsequently reviewed and determined.

Further to the outcome recorded in item 4, above, whereby there was no change to the status quo, this item of business was automatically withdrawn without discussion.

The meeting concluded at 6.14 p.m.