LLANELLI RURAL COUNCIL

Minute Nos: 1 – 6

At the **ANNUAL MEETING** of the Llanelli Rural Council hosted at the Council Chamber, Vauxhall Buildings, Vauxhall, Llanelli, and via remote attendance on Wednesday, 28 October, 2020, at 2.00 p.m.

Present:

Cllr. S. L. Davies (Chairman)

Cllrs.

S. M. Caiach	H. J. Evans	
M. V. Davies	S. N. Lewis	
T. Devichand	A. G. Morgan	
S. M. Donoghue	J. S. Phillips	
T. M. Donoghue	J. S. Randall	
P. M. Edwards	A. J. Rogers	
W. V. Thomas		

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs. F. Akhtar, J. P. Hart, T. J. Jones, C. A. Rees and I. G. Wooldridge.

2. MEMBERS' DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were made.

3. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Further to Minute No. 502 (30 September, 2020), it was

RESOLVED that Cllr. S. L. Davies shall remain in office until the annual meeting to be held in May 2021.

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Chairman (elect) nomination confirmed by the Council on 14 January, 2020 (Minute No. 357 refers) shall be held in abeyance until the annual meeting in May 2021.

4. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

Further to Minute No. 502 (30 September, 2020), it was

RESOLVED that Cllr. T. Devichand shall remain in office until the annual meeting to be held in May 2021.

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Vice-Chairman (elect) nomination confirmed by the Council on 14 January, 2020 (Minute No. 357 refers) shall be held in abeyance until the annual meeting in May 2021.

5. APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES

RESOLVED that in accordance with Minute No. 502 (30 September, 2020), membership of the council's standing committees, including the election of chairman and vice chairman to each of the committees be reaffirmed as follows:

Committee:

Members:

Finance and General Purposes:	F. Akhtar S. M. Caiach S. L. Davies T. Devichand S. M. Donoghue S. N. Lewis Vacancy J. S. Phillips J. S. Randall C. A. Rees W. V. Thomas	Pemberton Hengoed Dafen Leader of Council Bynea Dafen (Vice Chairman) Pemberton Hengoed Swiss Valley Glyn Felinfoel (Chairman)
Recreation and Welfare:	M. V. Davies S. L. Davies T. Devichand T. M. Donoghue P. M. Edwards J. P. Hart T. J. Jones S. N. Lewis A. G. Morgan Vacancy W. V. Thomas I. G. Wooldridge	Hengoed Chairman of Council Dafen Bynea Hengoed (Chairman) Pemberton Glyn Dafen (Vice Chairman) Swiss Valley Pemberton Felinfoel Bynea

Committee:	Members:	
<u>Planning and Liaison</u> :	F. Ahktar S. M. Caiach M. V. Davies S. L. Davies T. Devichand T. M. Donoghue H. J. Evans T. J. Jones Vacancy J. S. Randall A. J. Rogers	Pemberton Hengoed Hengoed Chairman of Council Dafen Bynea Felinfoel (Chairman) Glyn Pemberton Swiss Valley Dafen (Vice Chairman)
Policy and Resources:	S. L. Davies T. Devichand S. M. Donoghue P. M. Edwards H. J. Evans J. P. Hart A. G. Morgan J. S. Phillips C. A. Rees A. J. Rogers Vacancy I. G. Wooldridge	Dafen Leader of Council Bynea (Chairman) Hengoed Felinfoel (Vice Chairman) Pemberton Swiss Valley Hengoed Glyn Dafen Pemberton Bynea
<u>Civic and Ceremonial</u> :	S. M. Caiach M. V. Davies S. L. Davies T. Devichand S. M. Donoghue H. J. Evans T. J. Jones S. N. Lewis C. A. Rees	(Chairman) Chairman of Council Leader of Council (Vice Chairman)
Community Development Grants Panel:	S. L. Davies T. Devichand T. M. Donoghue P. M. Edwards J. P. Hart T. J. Jones A. G. Morgan A. J. Rogers W. V. Thomas	Chairman of Council Leader of Council Bynea Hengoed Pemberton (Chairman) Glyn Swiss Valley Dafen (Vice Chairman) Felinfoel

Committee:

Members:

Learning and Development Consultative Committee:

Chairman of Council
Leader of Council
(Vice Chairman)
(Chairman)

In accordance with Standing Order No. 39, Members serving on any of the Council's Committees are given discretionary powers to appoint a deputy to attend in their stead, except for the Civic and Ceremonial Committee.

6. REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES AND ORGANISATIONS

RESOLVED that in accordance with Minute No. 502 (30 September, 2020), the council's representatives serving on outside bodies and organisations be reaffirmed as follows but subject to Cllr. T. Devichand being nominated to fill the vacancy on the Llanelli Committee for the Disabled and Cllr. J. S. Phillips being nominated to fill the vacancy on the Llanelli Joint Burial Advisory Committee:

Members:

Carmarthenshire Tourism Association	P. M. Edwards
CETMA/Llanellitown.com	H. J. Evans
Friends of Llanelli Museum	S. M. Donoghue
Governing Bodies: Primary Schools:	
Bryn	S. M. Donoghue
Brynsierfel	J. P. Hart
Bynea	T. M. Donoghue
Dafen	H. J. Evans
Five Roads	C. A. Rees
Furnace	S. M. Caiach
Halfway	S. N. Lewis
Ponthenri	Federation
Pontyates	T. J. Jones
Pwll	J. S. Phillips
St. Mary's Catholic	A. J. Rogers
Swiss Valley	M. V. Davies
Ysgol Brynteg	J. P. Hart
Ysgol y Felin	H. J. Evans

Members:

Heart of Wales Line Forum	T. M. Donoghue
Links	S. M. Donoghue
Llanelli and District Civic Society	S. M. Donoghue
Llanelli and District Flood Forum	S. M. Caiach I. G. Wooldridge
Llanelli and District Shopmobility	W. V. Thomas
Llanelli and District Talking Newspaper Association	S. N. Lewis A. J. Rogers
Llanelli and District Twinning Association	A. J. Rogers
Llanelli Area Town and Community Councils	Chairman of Council Leader of Council Clerk
Llanelli Chamber of Trade and Commerce	H. J. Evans
Llanelli Committee for the Disabled	T. Devichand
Llanelli Fair Trade Group	S. M. Caiach
Llanelli Guide Dogs for the Blind	T. M. Donoghue
Llanelli Joint Burial Advisory Committee	T. Devichand S. M. Donoghue P. M. Edwards H. J. Evans J. S. Phillips
Llanelli Railway Strike Riots 1911 Committee	S. M. Donoghue W. V. Thomas
National Association of Councillors – Welsh Region	T. Devichand

Members:

Ty Bryngwyn Hospice Fundraising Committee A. G. Morgan J. S. Phillips A. J. Rogers

.....

The Meeting concluded at 2.11 p.m.

••••••