LLANELLI RURAL COUNCIL

Minute Nos: 1 – 7

At the **ANNUAL MEETING** of the Llanelli Rural Council held at the Council Chamber, Vauxhall Buildings, Vauxhall, Llanelli, on Tuesday, 9 May, 2006, at 6.00 p.m.

Present: Cllr. D. V. Darby (Chairman)

Cllrs.

T. D. Bowen	M. B. Hughes
S. M. Caiach	M. P. Jones
D. J. Davies	T. J. Jones
C. Edwards	A. S. Peters
M. L. Evans	C. A. Rees
M. Howells	R. G. Thorne

G. H. Wooldridge

Apologies: Cllrs. M. Davies, S. L. Davies, T. Devichand, R. E. Evans, S. N. Lewis, A. G. Morgan.

1. OPENING PRAYERS

Reverend I. Lewis opened the proceedings with prayers.

2. CHAIRMAN'S ADDRESS

The Chairman, Cllr. D. V. Darby referred to the many and varied memories of the past year, from the retirement of the Rt. Hon. Denzil Davies, MP and the succession of Nia Griffith, MP, to the celebrations commemorating the 60th anniversary of the end of World War II and the 200th anniversary of the Battle of Trafalgar. Particular emphasis was given to the commitment given by representatives of Llanelli Phab in conjunction with the Shaw Trust and to the Special Olympics team when they participated in the games held in Glasgow.

Cllr. Darby conveyed how proud she felt regarding the Council's attainment of the Investors in People Award and to the continuing commitment of providing local groups and organisations with funding through the Community Development Grant scheme.

Partnership agreements with Llanelli Town Council by way of the Senior Citizens' Day Centre, Llanelli District Cemetery Joint Burial Authority and the Senior Citizens' annual holiday continued to flourish, as too did the partnerships with Carmarthenshire County Council and the Llanelli Round Table in securing the Christmas Carnival and Design a Christmas Light competition in which local schools participated. The Council continued to

work closely with the Communities First partnerships in Llwynhendy and Felinfoel and also with the local forums in Bynea, Trallwm and Dafen. Reference was made to the fact that the Council continued to campaign vehemently with the Committee for the Improvement of Hospital Services in retaining essential services at Prince Philip Hospital, Llanelli.

On a sad note, Cllr. Darby spoke of the recent demise of Mrs. I. Darby, wife of former Rural and Town Councillor, G. Darby. Also with sadness, the recent demise of Mr. G. B. Thomas, former Clerk to this Council, who had been appointed in 1974 following Government reorganisation and who fought to oppose the proposed division by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales, of the Rural Council into four new communities. Following a lengthy campaign, the Boundary Commission conceded that the proposed division would not be in the best interest of the community and withdrew the proposal and, indeed, the Council's area subsequently increased to include the village of Pwll.

Cllr. Darby thanked her Consort, Mr. P. Darby and their family for the support given during the past year and Cllr. T. D. Bowen and his wife, Mrs. J. Bowen for their role as Vice Chairman and Lady, respectively. Also, the Chairman and Consort, Carmarthenshire County Council, Llanelli Town Mayor and Mayoress and to her Chaplain, Rev. A. Grey.

RESOLVED that Cllr. Darby's remarks be noted.

3. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Cllr. D. V. Darby invited nominations for the Election of Chairman. It was moved by Cllr. G. H. Wooldridge, seconded by Cllr. C. A. Rees, and was

RESOLVED that Cllr. T. D. Bowen be and, is hereby, appointed as Chairman for the municipal year of 2006/2007.

The Past Chairman invested the Chairman with the Chain of Office.

4. CHAIRMAN'S ACCEPTANCE AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF OFFICE

The Chairman having made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office, stated that he looked forward to the year ahead and conveyed his congratulations to the newly elected Mayor for Llanelli Town Council, Cllr. M. K. Francis and to the incoming Chairman of Carmarthenshire County Council, Cllr. R. Llewellyn.

Cllr. Bowen thanked his guests for their support that evening.

5. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

It was moved by Cllr. C. Edwards, seconded by Cllr. A. S. Peters, and was

RESOLVED that Cllr. D. J. Davies be and, is hereby, appointed as Vice-Chairman for the municipal year 2006/2007.

The Chairman, Cllr. T. D. Bowen invested the Vice-Chairman with the Chain of Office and wished him well during his term of office.

6. PRESENTATION OF MEDALLIONS

The Chairman, Cllr. T. D. Bowen presented Cllr. D. V. Darby with the Past Chairman's medallion and Mr. P. Darby with the Past Chairman's Consort's medallion.

7. ADJOURNMENT OF ANNUAL MEETING

On the motion of Cllr. M. Howells, seconded by Cllr. T. J. Jones, it was

RESOLVED that the Annual Meeting stand adjourned until Thursday, 11 May, 2006.

The Meeting concluded at 6.30 p.m
•••••

The afore-mentioned Minutes were declared to be a true record of the proceedings and signed by the Chairman presiding thereat and were, on 13 June, 2006, adopted by the Council.