15 May, 2012.

LLANELLI RURAL COUNCIL

Minute Nos: 1 - 10

At the **ANNUAL MEETING** of the Llanelli Rural Council held at the Council Chamber, Vauxhall Buildings, Vauxhall, Llanelli, on Tuesday, 15 May, 2012, at 6.00 p.m.

Present: Cllr. S. N. Lewis (Chairman)

Cllrs.

F. Akhtar
L. A. Beer
G. N. R. Edwards
T. Bowen
H. J. Evans
D. M. Cundy
R. E. Evans
M. V. Davies
T. J. Jones
S. L. Davies
A. G. Morgan
T. Devichand
C. A. Rees

W. V. Thomas

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs. L. J. Butler, S. M. Caiach, M. L. Evans, A. Rogers and G. H. Wooldridge.

2. MEMBERS' DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were made.

3. OPENING PRAYERS

Reverend G. Powell opened the proceedings with prayers.

4. CHAIRMAN'S ADDRESS

The Chairman, Cllr. S. N. Lewis welcomed Members and guests to the meeting and reflected on the past year with immense pleasure; it was incredible to believe that so much ground had been covered. The year had been very busy and demanding but the experience had been enjoyable and would remain in her memory forever.

Cllr. Lewis had attended 166 local events, too numerous to mention individually but on every occasion she had always received a warm and courteously welcome and had been generously entertained.

15 May, 2012.

One of the most endearing recollections was the realisation of the exceptional work that was undertaken by the many local voluntary and charitable organisations. These groups were the fabric of local society and it had been a privilege to be part of their work. In recognising their good work in the community the Chairman also referred to the generosity of the people of Llanelli for their kindness in supporting them.

Cllr. Lewis thanked her Consort, Mr R. G. Thorne for his support during the past year and Cllr. T. Devichand for her role as Vice Chairman to whom she extended her good wishes for the year ahead. Also, the Chairman and Consort, Carmarthenshire County Council, Llanelli Town Mayor and Mayoress and to all other civic dignitaries who she had worked with during the civic year.

RESOLVED that Cllr. Lewis' remarks be noted.

5. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Cllr. S. N. Lewis invited nominations for the Election of Chairman. It was moved by Cllr. S. L. Davies, seconded by Cllr. W. V. Thomas, and was

RESOLVED that Cllr. T. Devichand be and, is hereby, appointed as Chairman for the municipal year 2012/2013.

The Past Chairman invested the Chairman and Consort, Miss A. Davies with the Chains of Office.

6. CHAIRMAN'S ACCEPTANCE AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF OFFICE

The Chairman having made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office stated that she wished to maintain the high standards of previous Chairmen and represent the Council in a positive and professional manner and both she and her Consort were looking forward to the year ahead.

Cllr. Devichand conveyed her congratulations to the newly elected Mayor for Llanelli Town Council, Cllr. W. Lemon and to the incoming Chairman of Carmarthenshire County Council, Cllr. S. Thomas and she looked forward to working with all the Civic Dignitaries of neighbouring Councils.

Cllr. Devichand thanked her guests for their support that evening.

7. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

It was moved by Cllr. C. A. Rees, seconded by Cllr. A. G. Morgan, and was

RESOLVED that Cllr. T. J. Jones be and, is hereby, appointed as Vice-Chairman for the municipal year 2012/2013.

15 May, 2012.

The Chairman, Cllr. T. Devichand invested the Vice-Chairman and Consort, Miss C. Montgomery with the Chains of Office and wished them well during their term of office.

8. VICE-CHAIRMAN'S ACCEPTANCE AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF OFFICE

The Vice-Chairman having made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office, stated that it was a privilege to be able to accept such an honour and assured that both he and his Consort would fully support the Chairman in her year of Office.

9. PRESENTATION OF MEDALLIONS

Cllr. T. Devichand presented Cllr. S. N. Lewis with the Past Chairman's medallion and Mr R. G. Thorne with the Past Chairman's Consort's medallion.

10. ADJOURNMENT OF ANNUAL MEETING

On the motion of Cllr. H. J. Evans, seconded by Cllr. D. M. Cundy it was

RESOLVED that the Annual Meeting stand adjourned until Thursday, 17 May, 2012.

The Meeting concluded at 6.25 p.m

The afore-mentioned Minutes were declared to be a true record of the proceedings and signed by the Chairman presiding thereat and were, on 12 June, 2012, adopted by the Council.