10 May, 2011.

LLANELLI RURAL COUNCIL

Minute Nos: 1 – 10

At the **ANNUAL MEETING** of the Llanelli Rural Council held at the Council Chamber, Vauxhall Buildings, Vauxhall, Llanelli, on Tuesday, 10 May, 2011, at 6.00 p.m.

Present: Cllr. S. L. Davies (Chairman)

Cllrs.

T. J. Jones
M. J. Lewis
S. N. Lewis
A. G. Morgan
C. A. Rees
B. C. M. Reynolds
A. C. Thomas
G. H. Wooldridge

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs. T. D. Bowen, D. J. Davies, M. L. Evans and V. R. Thomas.

2. MEMBERS' DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were made.

3. OPENING PRAYERS

Reverend G. Powell opened the proceedings with prayers.

4. CHAIRMAN'S ADDRESS

The Chairman, Cllr. S. L. Davies having welcomed Members and guests to the meeting, referred to the past year as having been a privilege and an honour to represent this Council and it had been a proud moment in her life. It had been a very busy year which required a great deal of stamina.

Reference was made to the engagements attended, in which she and her Consort had met many wonderful people, old friends, family relations and also new friendships made. Cllr. Davies sadly reflected upon the demise of Mrs J. Roberts, the Chairman Elect's consort who

10 May, 2011.

passed away suddenly. Joan provided excellent support to Cllr. Lewis and no doubt her company would be missed.

Cllr. Davies thanked her Consort, Mr P. Hunt Davies for his support during the past year and Cllr. S. N. Lewis for her role as Vice Chairman to whom she extended her good wishes for the year ahead. Also, the Chairman and Consort, Carmarthenshire County Council, Llanelli Town Mayor and Mayoress and to all other civic dignitaries who she had worked with during the civic year.

RESOLVED that Cllr. Davies' remarks be noted.

5. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Cllr. S. L. Davies invited nominations for the Election of Chairman. It was moved by Cllr. T. J. Jones, seconded by Cllr. M. V. Davies, and was

RESOLVED that Cllr. S. N. Lewis be and, is hereby, appointed as Chairman for the municipal year of 2011/2012.

The Past Chairman invested the Chairman and Consort, Mr. Ray G. Thorne with the Chains of Office.

6. CHAIRMAN'S ACCEPTANCE AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF OFFICE

The Chairman having made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office, and in paying tribute to Mrs J. Roberts (her former Consort who had passed away) stated that she wished to maintain the high standards of previous Chairmen and represent the Council in a positive and professional manner and both she and her new Consort were looking forward to the year ahead.

Cllr. Lewis conveyed her congratulations to the newly elected Mayor for Llanelli Town Council, Cllr. L. Stedman and to the incoming Chairman of Carmarthenshire County Council, Cllr. I. Jackson and she looked forward to working with all the Civic Dignitaries of neighbouring Councils.

Cllr. Lewis thanked her guests for their support that evening.

7. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

It was moved by Cllr. H. J. Evans, seconded by Cllr. M. L. Davies, and was

RESOLVED that Cllr. T. Devichand be and, is hereby, appointed as Vice-Chairman for the municipal year 2011/2012.

10 May, 2011.

The Chairman, Cllr. S. N. Lewis invested the Vice-Chairman and Consort, Miss A. Davies with the Chains of Office and wished them well during their term of office.

8. VICE-CHAIRMAN'S ACCEPTANCE AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF OFFICE

The Vice-Chairman having made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office, stated that it was a privilege to be able to accept such an honour and assured that both she and her Consort would fully support the Chairman in her year of Office.

9. PRESENTATION OF MEDALLIONS

The Chairman, Cllr. S. N. Lewis presented Cllr. S. L. Davies with the Past Chairman's medallion and Mr P. Hunt Davies' Past Chairman's Consort's medallion.

10. ADJOURNMENT OF ANNUAL MEETING

On the motion of Cllr. A. G. Morgan, seconded by Cllr. T. Rh. Ifan it was

RESOLVED that the Annual Meeting stand adjourned until Thursday, 12 May, 2011.

•••••	••••••	•••••	• • • • •
The Meeting co	ncluded	at 6.30	p.m
•••••	•••••		• • • • •

The afore-mentioned Minutes were declared to be a true record of the proceedings and signed by the Chairman presiding thereat and were, on 14 June, 2011, adopted by the Council.