14 March, 2017

LLANELLI RURAL COUNCIL

Minute Nos: 471 – 479

At a **COUNCIL** Meeting of the Llanelli Rural Council held at the Council Chamber, Vauxhall Buildings, Vauxhall, Llanelli, on Tuesday, 14 March, 2017, at 6.00 p.m.

Present:

Cllr. S. M. Donoghue (Chairman)

Cllrs.

F. Akhtar	M. L. Evans
T. Bowen	R. E. Evans
S. M. Caiach	T. J. Jones
D. M. Cundy	S. N. Lewis
M. V. Davies	A. G. Morgan
S. L. Davies	J. S. Phillips
T. Devichand	C. A. Rees
H. J. Evans	A. J. Rogers
W. V. Thomas	

Absent: L. J. Butler

471. CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENT

The Chairman referred to the recent demise of Mrs Ann Reynolds, wife and former Consort to Past Chairman, Mr Clive Reynolds and as a mark of respect Members and Officers stood in silent tribute.

472. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs. L. A. Beer and G. H. Wooldridge.

473. MEMBERS' DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were made.

474. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

RESOLVED that the following Minutes (copies of which had been previously circulated to Members) be confirmed and signed as a true record of proceedings:

14 March, 2017

Council Special Council Finance and General Purposes Committee Planning and Liaison Committee

14 February, 2017
20 February, 2017
28 February, 2017
6 March, 2017

475. SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDERS

Further to Minute No.441 and in order to reflect the change of Council leadership made at the February 2017 ordinary Council meeting it was

RESOLVED that the temporary suspension of Standing Order No. 7.1 (H) (appointment of committees at the Annual Council Meeting) be accepted, in order to transact the business set out in Minute No. 476 below.

476. APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES

Further to Minute No. 441, the Clerk informed Members the following changes to the Council's standing committees would be necessary in order to accommodate Cllr. Devichand, Leader of Council to serve on them:

Recreation and Welfare Committee - Cllr. C. A. Rees would no longer serve on the committee with her seat being allocated to Cllr. T. Devichand;

Planning and Liaison Committee – Cllr. S. N. Lewis' would no longer serve on the committee with her seat being allocated to Cllr. T. Devichand;

Policy and Resources Committee – Cllr. C. A. Rees would no longer serve on the committee with her seat being allocated to Cllr. S. N. Lewis. Cllr. T. Devichand would serve on this committee in her capacity as Leader of Council;

Finance and General Purposes Committee – Cllr. T. Devichand would serve on this committee in her capacity as Leader of Council.

The changes would take immediate effect.

RESOLVED that the information be noted.

477. NOTICE OF MOTION TO REVIEW THE APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF COUNCIL

Members received a Notice of Motion from Cllr. C. A. Rees on behalf of the Plaid/Independent Group, requesting 'a vote of no confidence in the newly appointed Leader of Council, Cllr. T. Devichand'.

Following a lengthy discussion and having taken a recorded vote in respect of the matter, it was ultimately

RESOLVED that the motion be denied and that the votes for and against the notice of motion be recorded as follows:

14 March, 2017

Against Cllrs.
Chrs.
F. Akhtar
S. M Caiach
D. M. Cundy
S. L. Davies
T. Devichand
S. M. Donoghue
H. J. Evans
S. N. Lewis
A. J. Rogers
W. V. Thomas

478. MATTERS REPORTED

RESOLVED that the schedule of matters reported be noted.

479. LETTERS OF APPRECIATION

RESOLVED that the letters of appreciation for the Council's assistance received from the following, be noted with pleasure:

- (1) Bryngwyn School;
- (2) Carmarthenshire Youth & Children's Association;
- (3) Pwll Action Committee;
- (4) St. Michael & All Angels Church.

.....

The Meeting concluded at 6.17 p.m.

.....